Appointed Officials

Appointed Officials by Title
City Manager

The City Manageris appointed by City Council for an indefinite term. The major duties of the City Manager include: supervising and coordinating the activities of City departments; attending Council meetings and making recommendations on appropriate matters of business; ensuring that all orders and policies of the City Council are implemented; recommending the annual budget; keeping City Council advised on the financial condition of the City; and representing the City in governmental affairs with other agencies.

City Attorney

The City Attorney is appointed by City Council. The City Attorney’s Office represents and advises the Mayor, City Council and City officials and departments in legal matters pertaining to their office and City operations.

Clerk of Council

The Clerk of Council is appointed by City Council, upon the recommendation of the City Administrator, for an indefinite term. The Clerk of Council keeps all records of City Council; prepares, authenticates, and records ordinances and resolutions; keeps elections records; notifies Council of impending expiration of the term of office of board and commission members; keeps the official seal of the City.

Municipal Judges

Municipal Judges are appointed and serve at the pleasure of the Mayor and City Council. The City’s Judges schedule and rule on municipal offenses and state criminal cases occurring within the City limits, including misdemeanor, criminal and traffic charges.

Appointed Officials by Name

City Manager – Steve Davis
Assistant City Manager – Thomas Kilmartin
Assistant City Manager – Jason Stewart
City Attorney – Scott Robichaux
Clerk of Council – Zahnay Smoak
City of Port Wentworth Judge  – Hermann W. Coolidge, Jr.
City of Port Wentworth Judge Pro Tem – Laura M. Singleton, Esq.

Department Heads

Fire Chief – Lance Moore
Chief of Police – Kerry Thomas
Director of Development Services – Jason Stewart
Director of Human Resources – Ashley Lanier
Director of Leisure Services – Tiffany Lancaster
Director of Finance – Tom Kilmartin
Director of Public Works – Omar Senati-Martinez
Director of Technology – David Stahl
Director of Economic Development – James Touchton

City Hall
Department Phone Numbers

Copyright © City of Port Wentworth, Georgia 2024